Lucky 15 January 27th

6.30pm As the previous blog said, so much good racing but finding some winners that aren’t odds on is going to me trappy with a capital T! But I have always been a man for a challenge when it comes to Saturday punting.

I’ll start with an apology. When I kicked this new blog off I said I would do some Ante Post features but I just haven’t been quick enough off the mark. I look at them normally on a Tuesday and get my bets on and when I get round to writing the article either everybody on the worldwide internetty thing has tipped my fancy or the price has tumbled and in both cases it would like after-timing, something I hate. Anyway onwards and upwards!

Saturday Lucky 15

Cheltenham 12.35     BURTONS WELL                     13/2 general

Doncaster 1.25           STRONG PURSUIT                  13/2 general

Doncaster 3.40           ASK SAM                                8/1 Coral Ladbroke 7/1 general

Cheltenham 4.35       LE ROCHER                             9/1 PP  8/1 general

and here’s why

Cheltenham 12.35     BURTONS WELL His form with Waiting Patiently looks very strong, won well last time and won’t mind any rain overnight. Venetia Williams has an improver on her hands and Charles Deutsch is well worth his 3lb claim. Fences could be the issue. Singlefarmpayment and Mercian Prince main rivals. Can’t have Champers on Ice with counterfeit over this trip!

Doncaster 1.25           STRONG PURSUIT This is mainly a price thing. Made it between three, Give me a Copper, Constantine Bay and this one. At 9/4, 7/2 and 13/2 not much of a decision. Strong Pursuit is a strapping type and like most of his rivals will all be better over the bigger obstacles but I like the selections attitude. Is he good enough? At 13/2 I’m willing to ask the question.

Doncaster 3.40           ASK SAM I hinted at this one earlier in the week when I reported “UPLANDS LATEST NEWS 21.01.17 Warren Greatrex Out Sam is an intended runner in the Sky Bet Chase next Saturday. I was very pleased with his 3rd at Kempton last time and he has come out of that race really well.” Well he does run, won’t mind good ground, 3m is fine and Andrew Tinkler has been in to school him and off just 10st 10lb he has to be competitive. Get his jumping right, get him in a rhythm and happy days. Dangers too numerous to name. Can Jonjo get Holywell down to OR150 for Cheltenham, again?!

Cheltenham 4.35       LE ROCHER     Allegedly he was second to Clyne in that fog. Well that form was franked last Saturday, he’s a G1 winner, he has won a G2 at Cheltenham and if substantial rain arrives I’m even keener. Nick Williams has his string in good nick and the ubiquitous Lizzie Kelly takes off 5lb. Nicky Hendersons Divine Spear looks a danger off just 10st 6lb and Ned Curtis (interesting booking) reduces it by another 5lbs!

 

Friday Lucky 15

Sadly Huntingdon was lost to frost but Premier Bond read the script and provides a tasty £35 return!

Huntingdon 1.30        WINNER MASSAGOT             9/4 general                        Non Runner

Huntingdon 3.00        CALL TO ORDER                     7/2 WH 10/3 general     Non Runner

Huntingdon 3.30        AWESOME ROSIE                   9/1 WH 8/1 general       Non Runner

Doncaster 3.55           PREMIER BOND                      5/2 general                        1st 5/2

Leave a Reply

