Ludlow Off! Thoughts on Thistlecrack

Friday 11.15am

Misplaced optimism for Ludlow. Seems my talent for stopping football teams (Arsenal, Palace, Chelsea and that’s just this week!) now transferred to getting Race meetings frozen off!

Since the New Year I have been listening to and reading plenty of the Christmas racing reviews and loads about the King George winner, Thistlecrack. So time for my tuppence worth. Three things about the result bothered me. Firstly the proximity of Tea for Two, Silviniaco Conti and Josses Hill. Secondly if Might Bite had stood up in the Kauto Star Novice Chase he would have recorded a quicker time. Thirdly I had a mental picture of Cue Card jumping into the back of Thistlecrack down the back straight. Thistlecrack won the race fair and square with a turn of foot round the home bend. So I re-watched the race and my theory is simple. They went no pace on the first circuit, thank you Josses Hill, but it explains plenty. The time. Why the third, fourth and fifth are so close. Why Thistlecrack accelerated turning for home. So I come back to my two thoughts previously aired. Coneygree would set up a completely different race. Gigginstown may employ some spoilers. Thistlecrack stood outside the wings at all three ditches at Kempton. That could be a dangerous game in the cauldron of the Gold Cup. Thistlecrack is the most probable winner of the Gold Cup but at 5/4 not with my money!

SimpleSimonSays49…007 Jan. 6th

Leave a Reply

